The Man – – Rose Northcott

The Man

by Rose Northcott

He terrifies me. Telling me I must. Telling me NO! If I tell, I will die. If I don’t I will keep living life in hell. I see him, but he is dark. He is covered by something as if he has a bright white light behind him. I feel small when I’m with him. I’m so small that I don’t even cover the nail of his pinky. He used to be my friend. He saved me from the collapsing house. Now he wants me back in the house but a different one that is dark like him. Shades of gray and black. It scares me. I don’t want to go in. I do as he says so that I don’t have to go in, even if it means hurting myself. I want to go home. I want to forget him, but I can’t because he knows my every move. He is with me even when I am awake. I can feel him inside my body, controlling me. When he is not with me, he sends others to watch me. One after another after another. I drive in the car and see them: dark, human figures. They are there but vanish. The next one will always be there waiting for me when the one before vanishes. I feel like I have been dead for the past several years. Even when I am with the man I love. I feel alone. Completely Alone. I want to tell my parents but I can’t. He won’t let me. I am scared. I feel like everything is becoming still within me, as if I am dying. As if my mind and soul are disappearing. As if I am melting away and I can’t say or do anything to make it better.

Leave a Reply

