My Mane – – Erika Stanislaus

My Mane

by Erika Stanlislaus

“Let’s use this for your hair,

It will make it soo much softer”

And as she began to put this in my hair

It was straightening my roots

Chemicals

burning

Plastering my scalp

With that

Awful

Dreadful

Terrible

Sickening

Nauseating

Obnoxious

SMELL

Use the creamy crack they said

It will make your hair softer they said

*yawn*

Look at what it did to my hair

My hair continues to fall out

P

I

E

C

E

By

P

I

E

C

E

And I really don’t understand why my hair is like this

Using product after product

Just to get that bomb ass twist out

Only to find out

That thing

Called

Humidity

Gets to my hair

Or-

Even that cool winter breeze

I can’t catch a break, can I?

But you know what?

I will continue loving my—

Used to be permed  15713-200

Nappy                                                      Smooth

Flowing                                                                              Frizzy

Silky                                                                                                  Sleeky

Bouncy                                       HAIR                                         Shiny

Lush                                                                                    Oily

Tangled                                                           Coarse,

Kinky                                               Fluffy

Coily                  Luxuriant

Sometimes soft

    Not so curly

Thick

…because that’s my mane

Leave a Reply

